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SCENARIO: 
A player’s ball in motion, played from the putting green accidently strikes another ball in 
motion on the putting green. 
 
RULING: 
Without penalty, the stroke must be replayed. 
If the stroke is not replayed, the player gets the general penalty but has NOT played from 
a wrong place [Rule: 11.1b(2)]. 

  
 
There has been ‘some confusion’ with the introduction of the 2023 Rules of Golf 
with respect to this situation. 
The relevant Rule from both 2019 and 2023 are reproduced on the next page. 
 
The 2019 Rule [11.1b Exception 2] makes it clear that the ball must be replayed 
without penalty (Parenthesis: ‘including another ball in motion’). 
 

However, in the 2023 Rule [11.1b(2)], the parenthesis has been removed and 
‘leaves the impression’ that the ball is played as it lies as ‘another ball in motion’ 
is an outside influence. 
Now …… 
Whilst it is correct that a ‘ball in motion’ is an outside influence, a ‘ball in 
motion’ ALSO meets the definition of a movable obstruction. 
A ‘ball in motion’ (movable obstruction), is NOT one of the movable obstruction 
exceptions (other than) in [11.1b(2)] and so the player’s ball must be replayed 
without penalty. 

 
 
 

 
 
 

Statement from the USGA  

The removal of the parenthetical reference from 2019 to 2023 was not a 
change in the outcome. 
A ball in motion is still a movable obstruction and if a ball played from the putting green is deflected 
by a ball in motion on the putting green, Rule 11.1b(2) requires the stroke to be replayed. 
 

Rule 11.1b(2) goes through several phases to get to the various outcomes. A general overview 
statement (in general accidental deflections by player or outside influences are played as they lie), 
but then 3 buckets/categories of exceptions that would require a replay (any person, movable 
obstruction or animal), and then we pull specific types of things out from those buckets that are play 
as it lies (player, person attending flagstick/club used, flagstick, ball at rest, ball-marker/animal also 
defined as loose impediment). We leave all the other items not mentioned in the replay bucket and 
that would include a ball in motion, which is not just an outside influence but also a movable 
obstruction. 
[ Taken from the official Facebook page of the United States Golf Association ] 

 

Now Covered by Clarification 
4th January 2024 

 
Clarification:  11.1b(2)/1 

https://www.randa.org/rog/the-rules-of-golf/rule-11#11_1b
https://www.randa.org/rog/the-rules-of-golf/rule-11#11_1b
https://www.randa.org/rog/definitions?definitionsEdition=%20FullEdition#outside_influence
https://www.randa.org/rog/definitions?definitionsEdition=%20FullEdition#obstruction
https://www.randa.org/rog/the-rules-of-golf/rule-11#11_1b
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2019 Rules of Golf 
 
11.1   (Ball in Motion Accidentally Hits Person or Outside Influence) 
 
11.1b  (Exception 2) 
 
When Ball Played from Putting Green Accidentally Hits Any Person, Animal  
or Movable Obstruction (Including Another Ball in Motion) on Putting Green: 
The stroke does not count and the original ball or another ball must be replaced on its original spot (which if not known 
must be estimated) (see Rule 14.2), except in these two cases: 
 

• Ball in Motion Hits Another Ball at Rest or Ball-Marker on Putting Green. 
 The stroke counts and the ball must be played as it lies. (See Rule 11.1a for whether a penalty 
 applies in stroke play). 

• Ball in Motion Accidentally Hits Flagstick or Person Attending Flagstick. 
 This is covered by Rule 13.2b(2), not by this Rule. 
 
Penalty for Playing Incorrectly Substituted Ball or Playing Ball from a Wrong Place in  
Breach of Rule 11.1: 
General Penalty under Rule 6.3b or 14.7a. 
If multiple Rule breaches result from a single act or related acts, see Rule 1.3c(4) 

 
 
 

2023 Rules of Golf (January 2023) 
 
11.1   (Ball in Motion Accidentally Hits Person or Outside Influence) 
 
Rule 11.1b(2)  
 
When Ball Is Played from Putting Green.  
If a player’s ball in motion played from the putting green accidentally hits the player or an outside influence, the ball 
must normally be played as it lies. 
But if it is known or virtually certain that the ball in motion hit any of the following on the putting green, the player 
must replay the stroke by playing the original ball or another ball from the spot where that stroke was made (see Rule 
14.6): 
 

• Any person other than: 
 #  the player, or 
 #  a person attending the flagstick (this is covered by Rule 13.2b(2), not by this Rule). 

• A movable obstruction other than: 
 #  the club used to make the stroke,  
 #  a ball-marker,  
 #  a ball at rest (see Rule 11.1a for whether a penalty applies in stroke play), or 

#  a flagstick (this is covered by Rule 13.2b(2), not by this Rule). 

• An animal other than those defined as a loose impediment (such as an insect). 
 
If the player replays the stroke but does so from a wrong place, they get the general penalty under Rule 14.7. 
If the player does not replay the stroke, they get the general penalty and the stroke counts, but the player has not 
played from a wrong place. 

 


